Home > Light Painting, Photoshop, Post-Production, Printing > The New and the Improved

The New and the Improved

This post is a week overdue. The main topic of this post is actually what we did last weekend. Between working on Specialties for AP U.S. History and a pre-lab for AP Chemistry, Kyle and I found time to capture some new images as well as return to some old ones.

The New:

On Saturday, after we were done working on Specialties at the SDSU Library, Kyle and I got our camera gear and took a few photos around the campus. So far, we have only had time to edit one of them, which is the photo of a bridge seen to the left. During our numerous breaks from working, we also returned to an image we had taken on January 16, the same day we captured the Dip image that is on the Wall of Fame. Kyle really liked a building that was lit with purple spotlights, so I took a few photos of it. We messed with the best one in Photoshop, cropping it down and adjusting the contrast, among other things. The result will be printed in a few days (hopefully). That’s it for the new images, now on to the improved ones.

And the Improved:

Kyle and I went to Mac Lab Saturday School™ in order to catalog the contents of the camera cabinet, and ended up spending a lot of time working to get the Dip image ready to print. In the two and a half hours we spent going through multiple versions and generating over 4GB on new data, the image was greatly improved.We darkened it a great deal, as well as sharpened the foreground and cleaned up the sky a little with the patch tool. By the time it was printing, Kyle and I were sick of Photoshop, but had a new appreciation of its power. Finally, two copies were coming out of the Epson, one for Kyle and one for the Wall. We didn’t print one for me because I want to frame my copy, and I still need to buy a frame.

During our endless hours at the library, we also improved the Cars, Red Flower, and Seed Pod images, all of which we hope to print eventually. The Cars image, especially, was completely reworked and the result is spectacular when compared to the original. As for the other two, they underwent minor corrections and both are better for it.

Last weekend, we got a lot of work done, and I hope to do the same this weekend.

  1. February 20, 2010 at 12:52 pm | #1

    Looking great. Purple building is probably my favorite of them all.

  2. Philip B.
    February 20, 2010 at 12:56 pm | #2

    I agree with Christian. These are just so great. Good job.

  3. February 20, 2010 at 1:03 pm | #3

    Thanks.

    New Widget…

  4. February 20, 2010 at 1:42 pm | #4

    Am printing new Mac Lab posters for numerous events coming up. An update for an old design. Here’s the first 2 of many, many posters.

    http://maclab.guhsd.net/skocko/media/0910_mlp_01_02_half-size.jpg

    Fonts courtesy of: http://www.theleagueofmoveabletype.com/ (Good people!) Did layout in Illustrator first: http://maclab.guhsd.net/skocko/media/template_20_x_30.ai.zip Worked WAY better than starting in Photoshop (which I did).

    To ALL students reading this:

    I need copies of your best work 2,000 px in SHORTEST dimension for possible inclusion. Put flattened PSD (one layer) in DropBox Shared folder. Start file name with 0_ (ZERO + underscore) so I know what’s what. If I’ve already printed your work, I already have it.

    Posters just came out. Oh, my!

  5. February 20, 2010 at 1:48 pm | #5

    Well I know what I will be doing this weekend. Best work coming right up.

  6. February 20, 2010 at 4:24 pm | #6

    Love the fonts.

    Do you want us to make the posters using the Illustrator layout you linked to?

  7. February 20, 2010 at 4:26 pm | #7

    No. I was just sharing. I’m making these.

    Feel free to try the template if you want.

  8. February 20, 2010 at 4:27 pm | #9

    Were those fonts among the ones Kyle and I put on all the computers?

  9. February 20, 2010 at 5:54 pm | #10

    What language is that?

    League Gothic is in the 000 folder. Prociono is a brand new offering (today) and isn’t on any computers.

  10. February 20, 2010 at 6:04 pm | #11

    Agh! Grammar fixed!

    Okay. That explains the duplicates in my fonts library. I downloaded all the fonts from the page you linked to.

  11. February 20, 2010 at 6:17 pm | #12

    When you say “Put flattened PSD (one layer) in DropBox Shared folder” do you mean the “DropBox” application or the “Drop Box” folder inside the “Public” folder on the Macs at school?

  12. February 20, 2010 at 8:04 pm | #13

    The “DropBox” application. You can invite people to share files. Philip does it all the time.

  13. February 20, 2010 at 8:07 pm | #14

    Okay.

    I just wasn’t sure which one you were referring to.

  14. Philip B.
    February 20, 2010 at 11:23 pm | #15

    Sharing files using “DropBox” is the best way, because you don’t have to upload or download anything, just copy and paste.

  15. February 20, 2010 at 11:40 pm | #16

    I know. I have been using DropBox for well over a year now, and it is one of my favorite apps.

  16. February 21, 2010 at 8:03 am | #17

    Template and posters updated. Same link as above. Dang, just noticed I mirrored Chris and Fadi.

  17. February 21, 2010 at 12:32 pm | #18

    What do you mean?

    Thanks for putting my work in the posters!!!

  18. February 21, 2010 at 3:47 pm | #19

    The positioning on the initial two posters, is what I meant. Fixed it, re-uploaded, and added four more. All six are printed and in the Mac Lab. I’ve got the first two rejects on the wall in my studio at home. Dang, even these look great. Time to write…

  19. February 21, 2010 at 3:49 pm | #20

    Hey, it ate my reply.

  20. February 21, 2010 at 8:50 pm | #21

    For some reason, those last two comments got stuck in my spam filter, where they stayed for 5 hours. Sorry abut that.

    I bet those posters look cool. I will make something like that for my work at the end of the year.

  1. February 20, 2010 at 7:26 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

